Let’s hear it! – Social Media

I interviewed a few awesome teens at my library about the social media services that they use most often – here’s what they had to say: Blue

“I only use Facebook.” – Jenn W., 17

“ooVoo on mobile and Facebook Messenger.” – Nick L., 15 (Full disclosure, I had to ask what ooVoo is. Turns out it’s a really neat video chatting application with a lot of features including instant messaging and file sharing. Always learning new things at the library. Thanks, Nick.)

“I don’t use any really.”  – Ron S., 18 (I’m pretty sure this means “I have a Facebook profile, but I don’t actively use it.”)

“Facebook is my favorite and the one I use the most. I also like MeetMe.”  – Jon S., 17 (MeetMe allows users to connect through online games and geolocation in the hopes that you make some new friends.)

“NONE.” – Katie S., 14 (Look at you Katie, living off the grid in this uber-connected world. Very cool.)

“Facebook is the only one I use.” – Preston S., 14

“The social media platforms that i use the most are Facebook, Instagram, and Vine. If YouTube counts, then I use that as well. I LOVE YouTube much more than the other social media services becuase it opens my eyes up to other people’s life experiences, skills, and enjoyments in life.” – Corrine E., 16 (Very well said, Corrine.)

***

It looks like Facebook came out on top as the most popular social media platform used by the teens I surveyed. Interestingly, some of the other most commonly cited platforms like Twitter and Tumblr were not mentioned at all.

***

What about you? Which websites and apps do you use to connect with family or friends?

Anastasia Vito © 2014

Leave a Reply

