Let’s hear it! – Favorite genres

I interviewed a few awesome teens at my library about their favorite genres to read and why – here’s what they had to say:Purple

“Science fiction because of the action in it.” – Preston S., 14

“Realistic fiction, and Freak the Mighty.” – Nick L., 15

“I read: horror, fantasy, sci-fi, and adventure. They are often very entertaining.” – Katie S., 14

“I don’t really like any specific genre. If they had a genre that was specific to a gripping plot full of twists and turns, characters that you fall in love with, and a setting you can see – then sign me up. Until then, I don’t have a specific ideal genre, but I do like sci-fi.” – Ron S. 18

“I like to read different genres, but I like romantic comedy, action adventure, science fiction. Mostly books that will make your mind reel with questions so that it will keep you hooked until the very end of the book.” – Corrine E., 16

“Horror – I’ve always wanted to be scared. Science fiction – because…Doctor Who. Fantasy – magic. Manga – never know what it will be about.”  – Jon S., 17

“I like to read mystery and romance.” – Jenn W., 17

***

Science fiction seems to be the most popular genre mentioned which may have to do with elements of the recent popular dystopian series like the Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and Divergent. I like that a couple of the teens mentioned that they’ll read without genre discrimination – so long as it’s an interesting and compelling book.

My favorite genres are historical fiction and mystery, although I do love a good realistic fiction teen novel.

***

What’s your favorite genre? Do you even have one – or do you just go for whatever captivates you?

Anastasia Vito © 2014

Leave a Reply

