Let’s hear it! – Best recent read

I interviewed a few awesome teens at my library about the best books they’ve read recently and why they liked them – here’s what they had to say:Green

“I loved Generation Dead for the reason that it made me cry when one of the main characters died.” – Katie S., 14   (Generation Dead by Daniel Waters)

“Percy Jackson because it has knowledge about the Greek myths and a really cool storyline.” – Preston S., 14    (The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan)

“The best book that I have read recently would have to be Beautiful Disaster because of the realism and the romance that is throughout the story. Also, I like the characters that are in the story as well.” – Corrine E.,16     (Beautiful Disaster by Kate Brian)

“I haven’t read any recently.” – Jon S., 17

Romeo and Juliet because it had a twist at the end, but also depressing.” – Nick L., 15     (Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare)

“Right now I am reading Lock and Key.” – Jenn W., 17     (Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen)

Inkdeath because the series is amazing and though I was devastated to see the series end I was glad to know what had ultimately happened.” – Ron S., 18     (Inkworld series by Cornelia Funke)

***

The best book I’ve read recently is The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I was a little hesitant going into the novel because the story deals with teenagers coping with cancer. However, I think John Green’s writing is compelling and a little snarky, which is perfect for me. If you don’t laugh out loud at least a few times during this novel, you’re reading it wrong. I will confess that Isaac turned out to be my favorite character.

***

Have you read any of these novels? What’s the best book you’ve recently read and why did you love it?

Anastasia Vito © 2014

Leave a Reply

